Skullcandy, Myths and other Experiences

Posted: January 4, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

After many years of absence from this blog I have decided to once again return and share my gadget experiences with you. Four years is quite some time however it can be said that university life is quite challenging in terms of availability of time. I spent some time thinking what to write about and it came to me. What does a student use every day except for a laptop or pc? A student will use a pair of headphones quite often, therefore this post will look at my experience with headphones during the past four years.

ImagePreviously I have written a post on how amazing my Skullcandy Black Denim G.I. headphones were from every point of view. After using them for quite some time my opinion has clearly changed with regards to this brand. The pricing is not so competitive anymore when you compare it to other brands such as Sennheiser. However, the main and most important problem with these headphones is the build quality. The build quality is quite hard to notice during the first few days of usage, however this pair is built from a very cheap and weak plastic. This resulted in both extendable parts cracking and eventually breaking rendering them unusable. Might I add, that I don’t even need to use this extending feature since they fit my head exactly as they come out of the box? The cable connection to the driver also managed to break which resulted in just one speaker working.

ImageThe customer service at Skullcandy was quite helpful and changed this pair with a newer model without any questions asked. If I remember correctly you do get life time warranty, however it’s best to check before purchase if this is still the case. The new pair performed very similarly from a sound quality point of view. They even look better to be honest. However, Skullcandy is still using the same cheap plastic which resulted in cracks on both extendable parts again. This is quite unacceptable from a quality point of view. I do not use this extendable feature and they both break, imagine having to use them on a daily basis. Quite sad. Both ears still hurt after prolonged use.

ImageAs a result, I have decided to buy a much simpler pair from Creative for around 10 pounds. To my surprise, this pair is still in 100% working condition and undamaged after more than 3 years of intense usage. They came in a simple, white and eco friendly box with an instructions manual and a few different sized ear buds. I guess Skullcandy uses fancy packaging and design but compromises on quality whereas Creative does the opposite. I will take quality and sturdiness over fancy packaging any day.  They are very easy to store and do not hurt my ears after prolonged use. Highly recommend these if you are not willing to spend too much money on the label.

As a conclusion, I am highly disappointed with the Skullcandy headphones and will most probably avoid them in the future. Do not mistake a good pair of headphones based on their packaging or price. Price does not translate into quality anymore, it just reflects your ability to afford well know labels to society. Same goes for most products out on the market nowadays. So choose wisely and if possible try them out before purchasing whilst also checking the build quality. 

Leave a Reply

